Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Fri., Oct. 9
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Gov's regional council map is official, and smaller


A few months ago I did a story on the governor's regional economic development councils, the 10 pow-wows of government-private synergizationy.
There was a problem with the north country's council, though. It was massive. The enormity of the region upset economic development whizzes, from Jay Matteson to Don Alexander to my own boss, John B. Johnson Jr..
The configuration has changed. It's like a before-and-after picture for a weight-loss drug. The slimmed region includes Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence counties — the more traditional region.
It won't please everybody. Mr. Johnson, the publisher of this (awesome) newspaper, wanted Jefferson County included with the Syracuse area. That didn't happen.
But at least we're not with Otsego County anymore.
Next up: Who's going to be on the panels? Hopefully we won't have to again wait months for an answer.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes