Northern New York Newspapers
Watertown
Ogdensburg
Massena-Potsdam
Lowville
Carthage
Malone
NNY Business
NNY Living
NNY Ads
Mon., Aug. 31
ADVERTISE SUBSCRIBE
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Looking Backward

PREV
NEXT

The north

10 years ago

Dec. 14, 2002: The St. Regis Mohawk Tribe wants to build near the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino a 200-room hotel and convention center, which could be the largest such structure in the area. The tribe is looking to contract a consulting firm to design plans for the building and to conduct a study on the proposed hotel. Construction is scheduled to begin on the northeast side of its casino starting May 15.

25 years ago

Dec. 14, 1987: Conifer Development Corp., Syracuse, is planning a major development along Route 11 at the new entrance to Fort Drum that includes 550 units of housing, a shopping plaza, equipment rentals and self-storage units. The development will occur on both the east and west sides of Route 11 on nearly 300 acres of property.

50 years ago

Dec. 14, 1962: All roads, whether bare or buried under snow, lead to Watertown. This was proven by one Alexandria Bay commuter who, due to the blizzard that dumped 26 inches on the area, traveled seven different routes to make the 30-mile trip this morning. It took him three and one-half hours, reaching the city at 9 a.m.

75 years ago

Dec. 14, 1937: Hundreds of children and adults flocked to Thompson Park Monday afternoon and evening when the city’s new quarter-mile hand and bobsled ride was formally opened at 5 in the afternoon by Robert L. Banford, superintendent of recreation. A large crowd of smaller children, however, preferred to slide on the sharp slope near Park Circle and Bourne Drive.

100 years ago

Dec. 14, 1912: Florists of the city are making preparations for the Christmas sale, which in proportion with the sales in other stores, promised to be very large this year. The stores are not yet decorated for the holidays but will be within a short time.

125 years ago

Dec. 14, 1887: Dr. Barney Low today removed a cataract from the eye of Mrs. Christie Lebreck of this city at the City hospital. Mrs. Lebreck has been blind for 14 years and immediately after the operation she saw the time of day upon a watch.

150 years ago

Dec. 14, 1862: P.T. Barnum will lecture in Washington Hall, Watertown, on the evening of Thursday, Jan. 15.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Giveaway
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes