Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Thu., Oct. 8
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.

What the St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators did


What the St. Lawrence County Board of Legislators Did

Jan. 2, 2013. All legislators present.

Elected Jonathan S. Putney, D-Waddington, as chairman.

Elected Donald A. Peck, R-Gouverneur, as vice chairman.

Adopted rules of procedure.

Authorized a change to the county Emergency Medical Services Advisory Board bylaws to admit hospital representatives.

Authorized filling an assistant district attorney position.

Authorized the chairman to sign a contract renewal for the coordination of the development of recreational trails in the county.

Authorized the roll-over of tribal-state compact funds for economic development purposes.

Authorized abolishing and creating positions in the Community Services Department.

Authorized the county Stop-DWI coordinator to file an application and enter into a grant agreement with the governor’s traffic safety committee.

Approved standard federal aid highway and Marchiselli aid project supplemental agreement 1 for construction/construction inspection and construction support of County Route 27 over the middle branch of the Grasse River.

Approved the use of county-owned machinery.

Authorized the chairman to sign contracts between the Department of Social Services and entities receiving protected health information.

Corrected and refunded erroneous taxes.

Designated bank depositories and investment of county funds.

Authorized blanket bond in lieu of individual sureties for county officials and employees.

Authorized petty cash accounts and departmental cash drawers.

Authorized filling a deputy sheriff position.

Proclaimed Jan. 20 through Jan. 26 Ogdensburg Command Performances week in the county, celebrating 50 years of performances.

Urged state elected officials to support legislation regarding home rule regulation of sales and compensating use tax up to 4 percent, requesting the state to grant the county authority to adopt local laws, ordinances and resolutions to increase the sales tax in the county.

Adopted a local law setting salaries for county employees.

Authorized the chairman to sign contracts.

Authorized the chairman to request a dog quarantine.

Designated newspapers.

Modified the 2012 Department of Highway budget for fuel island.

Appointed Joseph L. Brant and Megan Lane Kent to the Environmental Management Council.

Appointed Craig Ballard to the EMS advisory board.

Reappointed Ronald Hance and Donald Thompson to the EMS advisory board.

Appointed Francis Barney,Harry McCarthy, Tracy Moody and Debbie Christy to the county Traffic Safety Council.

Reappointed Eric Backlund, Roger M. Bennett, Schuler J. Shea, William R. Swafford and Arthur W. Wilson to the Recreational Trails Advisory Board.

Reappointed Thomas A. Nichols and Benjamin Stauffer to the Soil & Water Conservation District.

Reappointed Galen K. Pletcher to the Board of Ethics.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes