Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Heuvelton Boys Basketball teams honored


The Heuvelton Varsity and Junior Varsity Boys Basketball teams were honored on Wednesday evening at the Moose Lodge in Ogdensburg for their solid improvement during the 2012-13 campaign.

Junior Varsity Coach Matt McLear began the night talking about the improvement his club made from the first practice until the final game. “This team always did what they were told to do, most of the time,” joked McLear. “They were a fun bunch to coach. At the beginning of the season, I really thought we wouldn’t get many wins. It was a struggle but we improved alot and made incredible progress.”

Honored with certificates of participation were Josh Cote, Cole Piercey, Carter Pierce, Ben Jacobs, Kris Bunch, Mike Martin, Chris Lovely, Anthony Butterfield, Andrew Streeter, Tyler Lytle, Will Tennant, and Casey Smith. Cole Piercey was named the Most Improved Player. Will Tennant earned the Team’s Defensive MVP while Mike Martin was cited as the Offensive MVP. Casey Smith brought home the Coaches Award.

After a meal where the Bulldogs appetite for Pizza and Wings was plentiful, Varsity Coach Josh McAllister honored his team which included eight seniors.

“We had eight seniors who contributed alot to this Bulldog basketball program. Most of them won two JV titles and last year, they were co-champs in the NAC West. We finished 10-4 this season and 13-7 overall beating state ranked Edwards-Knox in a game where the atmosphere at home was incredible. We won our Gutterson Memorial Tournament in a great game against Lisbon. We were competitive in every game this season and during the playoffs made a heck of a comeback to just fall short. But most important we had several players who were named All Academic,” said McAllister.

Honored with certificates of participation were juniors Joe McDonnell, Jack Pierce, Aiden Scagel, Dylan Liscum, and Reilly Pierce and seniors Jack Tennant, Jon Sloan, Cody Holland, Chris Power, Aaron Cobb, Dedrick Johnson and Matt and Mike Guardino.

Special awards went to Reilly Pierce for Most Improved, Aaron Cobb for Mr. Hustle, Dedrick Johnson for Offensive MVP, Cody Holland for Defensive MVP, and Jon Sloan as the recipient of the Coaches Award.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes