Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Fri., Oct. 9
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Mohawk Raceway banquet slated for Saturday evening


AKWESASNE - Although the 2013 racing season is just a few weeks away, Mohawk International Raceway still has some unfinished business from 2012 as they prepare to honor their champions and top finishers from the past season at their annual awards banquet coming up this Saturday night at the Brass Horse in Hogansburg, New York.

Tickets for the banquet can be purchased by contacting the track office throughout the week at 518-358-9017. The track office will be open from noon-3 p.m. each day. Banquet ticket pricing will be $30. Doors will open at 6 p.m. on Saturday, with dinner served at 7 p.m. Awards presentation will follow. Banquet tickets will also be sold at the door on Saturday.

The chase for the 2012 358 Modified track championship came down to several drivers on the final night of points. It was Billy Dunn taking home the championship, despite missing a race early in the year. Dunn finished just five points ahead of Chris Raabe, and 11 points ahead of Carey Terrance. Matt Billings finished the season in fourth place in points with Danny O’Brien, Dale Planck, Laurent Ladouceur and Roy Tarbell completing the top eight. Dunn also captured the Frenchie’s “Chevy Runs Deep” 358 Modified Series championship over Matt Billings, Chris Raabe, Brian McDonald and Roy Tarbell. Tom Conklin won the 2012 Rookie of the Year award.

For the second year in a row, Dylan Evoy dominated the Sportsman division at Mohawk International Raceway. Evoy claimed the championship by an astonishing 169 points over second place competitor Josh VanBrocklin. Mike Arquiett had a great season finishing in third place, while Brent Kelsey and Jessica Power rounded out the top five. Evoy also claimed his second straight Frenchie’s Ford “Drive One” Series title over Brandon Hagan, Mike Arquiett, Giles Godard and Jessica Power.

Adam Rozon captured the Rookie of the Year title for the Sportsman Division.

PJ Peters claimed the Mohawk International Raceway Pro Stock Championship in 2012 and will be honored for his efforts this weekend. PJ captured the title by 32 points over Stephane Lebrun. Dion Oakes, Marc Lalonde and Rock Aubin rounded out the top five, while newcomer Owen White claimed Rookie of the Year Honors. Joey Ladouceur claimed his second consecutive Bailey Motor Company Series Championship over PJ Peters, George Renaud, Stephane Lebrun and Jody Swamp.

Brian Green claimed the Mod Lite Track championship at Mohawk International Raceway in 2012, finishing just 12 points ahead of 2011 champion Mathieu Robinson. Scott Waldriff finished in third place on the season and claimed Rookie of the Year. Dan Reif captured the 600cc Mod Lite track championship with Bailey McDonald earning Rookie of the Year honors. Green also claimed the CKON 97.3 Mod Lite Series title over Jim Boggett and Mathieu Robinson.

Mathieu Aubin dominated the Bandit division in 2012, claiming the championship by 119 points over second place finisher Stuart Mossow. Cory Castell finished the season third overall, while Matt Zira captured Rookie of the Year honros.

For more information, visit the track website at

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes