Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Oct. 6
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Potsdam High team wins math contest for fourth time; sweeps awards


CANTON - A team from Potsdam Central School won the 69th Annual Pi Mu Epsilon Interscholastic Mathematics Contest, held April 17 at St. Lawrence University and sponsored by the University’s mathematics, computer science and statistics department and the local chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon, the mathematics honorary.

The victory marks the fourth straight Pi Mu Epsilon Interscholastic Cup for Potsdam.

Members of the winning team from Potsdam are Chatham Borsh, Nathan Gingrich, Andrew Hou and Ben Miller.

Forty-five students from 10 area high schools participated in the contest, which consists of an individual examination and team-challenge problems.

For the second year in a row, the Gold Medal in individual competition went to Miller of Potsdam. Gingrich and Hou tied for the Silver Medal, while Hou finished fourth.

The Robert Cromie Scholarship, named in honor of Emeritus Professor of Mathematics Robert Cromie and worth up to $5,000, is given to the top-ranking senior or one of the four alternates should they choose to attend St. Lawrence University. This year’s top-ranking senior is Borsh. The two alternates were E.J. Curtis of Canton and Jessica Fulk of Norwood-Norfolk.

Scholarships to St. Lawrence are also awarded for the three top-ranked non-seniors, all of whom came from Potsdam this year. They are Miller, Gingrich and Hou in amounts up to $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000, respectively.

In team competition, Potsdam placed first, Colton-Pierrepont second and Canton third. The highest-ranking members for each team were Joe Smith, Brasher Falls; Curtis, Canton; Kiernan Perry, Colton-Pierrepont; Sarah Yablonski, Gouverneur; Reilly Pierce, Heuvelton; Mary Young, Madrid-Waddington; Sarah Murphy, Massena; Fulk, Norwood-Norfolk; Miller, Potsdam; and Brandon Votra, St. Regis Falls.

The top 10 in individual competition were Miller, Potsdam; Gingrich, Potsdam; Hou, Potsdam; Borsh, Potsdam; Perry, Colton-Pierrepont; Young, Madrid-Waddington; Andrew Jenkins, Colton-Pierrepont; Curtis, Canton; Fulk, Norwood-Norfolk; and Noah Whalen, Colton-Pierrepont.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes