Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Voters head to polls Tuesday for school elections


Residents will go to the polls Tuesday to vote on 2013-14 school budgets and fill seats on local boards of education.

Here is a summary of school board races in 17 districts in St. Lawrence County:

n Canton Central: Four candidates are seeking three seats on the Board of Education. The terms are for three years. Incumbents Phillip J. Burnett Sr., Janet Favro and Angelique Santimaw are seeking re-election. Keith R. Rosser is also vying for a seat. Voting is from noon to 9 p.m. in the high school library.

n Clifton-Fine: Running for three seats on the board are incumbents Michelle L. Durham, Richard W. Hitchman and Robert P. Tebo III, and newcomers Jerry W. Bush, Christopher E. Cooper, Thomas P. Hartmann, Danny Hickey, Robert E. Lachut and Christopher L. Westbrook. Residents will vote from noon to 8 p.m. in the school foyer.

n Colton-Pierrepont: Residents will elect one person to the Board of Education. The candidates are incumbent Jo Ann Roberts and former board member Scott Baxter. Voting will be from noon to 8 p.m. in the school auditorium.

n Edwards-Knox: Two school board seats will be on the ballot, both carrying five-year terms. Incumbent Amanda Fuller is being challenged for her seat by Thomas Whitmarsh and Julie Bullock. Incumbent Thomas O’Brien is running unopposed for his seat. Voting is from noon to 8 p.m. in the district’s auditorium.

n Gouverneur: School board candidates running for three seats for three-year terms are incumbents Barry R. Smith and Laurie M. Roberts and newcomer Lisa M. McGregor. Residents will go to the polls from 1 to 9 p.m. in the high school auditorium lobby. The school’s participation in government class will conduct a voluntary exit poll of voters.

n Hammond: School board member Bernard A. Martin is running unopposed for a second five-year term.

n Hermon-Dekalb: In the race for two seats on the Board of Education, incumbent Crystal Simmons is running alongside newcomers Raeleen M. Willard and Jill Davis. Both seats are for five-year terms. Voting is from 1 to 9 p.m. in the main entrance foyer.

n Heuvelton: Two school board seats are open, a full five-year term and a two-year term. The two-year term is left over from Richard Moore’s seat, which he resigned in December for personal reasons. Board Vice President Dr. John P. “Jack” Zeh is running for re-election. Michelle McGaw, who was appointed to fill Mr. Moore’s seat, and Darcy Backus also are running. Polls will be open from 1 to 8 p.m. in Poulton Auditorium.

n Lisbon: Nancy Addison is running unopposed for the Board of Education. Tammy Amo decided not to run for reelection to another five-year term.

nMadrid-Waddington: There is one contested race for the school board, with incumbent Jeffrey Dominy being challenged by Andrew A. Bracy and Jacqueline Brown. Gerald Molnar is running unopposed for re-election. Voting will take place from 1 to 8 p.m. in the junior-senior high school.

n Massena: Newcomer Lorie R. MacKenzie is the sole candidate running for the Board of Education, to fill a seat being vacated by Michael J. LeBire. Voting is from noon to 8 p.m. in the Massena Community Center, 61 Beach St.

n Morristown: There are four candidates for three seats on the Board of Education. Larry Kring III and Mark Blanchard are on the ballot along with incumbents Darrell Merkel and Mary Anne Bailey. Voting is in the main lobby of the school from noon to 9 p.m.

n Norwood-Norfolk: Two incumbents, Jon Hazen and Suzanne Fiacco, are running for three seats on the school board. No one turned in a petition for a third seat held by Stephanie Allen. Voting is from 7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. in the district board room.

n Ogdensburg: Board of Education President Frederick P. Bean is running for re-election, and James P. King, president of the Madill Elementary School Parent Teacher Association, is challenging him for the seat. The polls are open from noon to 9 p.m. Residents west of the Oswegatchie River vote at Madill school, and those on the east side vote at Ogdensburg Free Academy.

n Parishville-Hopkinton: Incumbents James Young and Daniel Taylor are running unopposed for the Board of Education.

n Potsdam Central: Voters will pick three candidates for the Board of Education seats. Incumbent Ralph L. Fuller is joined on the ballot by former board member Ann M. Carvill, Rachel H. Wallace and Judith M. Hinman.

n St. Lawrence Central: James K. Lattimer and Bethany L. St. Hilaire are both seeking re-election to the school board. Voting is from 1 to 8 p.m. in the middle school gymnasium.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes