Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Oct. 7
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.

School budgets sail through in St. Lawrence County


The lights stayed on and the votes kept coming.

An early evening thunderstorm caused power outages for thousands of St. Lawrence County residents, but didn’t interrupt school budget votes, even in the hardest-hit areas.

Although roughly 2,600 customers in Canton lost power, the Canton Central School District was not impacted and voting took place as planned in the high school library.

A power outage at Hermon-DeKalb Central prompted district officials to turn on the school’s generator and voting continued as planned, said School Superintendent Ann M. Adams.

All 17 school districts in St. Lawrence County approved their respective 2013-14 school budgets. Here’s the results:

Canton Central’s $24.3 millon budget passed 422-154. The $470,000 bus purchase proposition passed 429-140. The $12,000 fundig proposition for Canton Free Library passed 424-143. In the school board race for three seats, newcomer Keith R. Rosser received 412 votes, followed by incumbents Angelique Santimaw,368, Janet Favro, 339 and Phillip J. Burnett Sr., 328.

Clifton-Fine’s $9.5 million budget passed 420-153. A bus proposition passed 392-183. Three seats on the school board were captured by newcomers Robert E. Lachut,223 votes, and Christopher L. Westbrook,408 votes while the third seat was won by incumbent Christopher E. Cooper,423 votes

Colton-Pierrepont’s $9.8 million budget passed 169-60. In the election for one, four-year term, former board of education member Scott A. Baxter received 126 votes. Incumbent Jo Ann Roberts earned 99 votes.

Edwards-Knox Central’s $12.3 million budget passed 206-55. The $320,000 bus proposition passed 148-113. In the board of education race, Thomas Whitmarsh received 109 votes to defeat incumbent Amanda Fuller, who received 92 votes. Incumbent Thomas O’Brien was unopposed and received 211 votes.

Gouverneur Central’s $32.6 million budget passed 274-72. Two incumbents were re-elected to the school board, Laurie M. Roberts, 297 votes, and Barry R. Smith, 284, while the third seat went to newcomer Lisa M. McGregor.

Hammond Central School’s $6.8 million budget passed 54 -12. Running without opposition, Bernard A. Martin re-elected to the Board of Education for a five-year term.

Hermon-DeKalb Central School’s $9 million budget passed 146-46. The $115,000 bus proposition passed 147-45. In the school board race for two seats, incumbent Crystal Simmons received 133 votes, followed by newcomers Jill Davis with 109 votes and Raeleen M. Willard, 108 votes.

Heuvelton’s $12.5 million budget passed 153-95. A $120,000 bus proposition passed 166-74. In the school board race, Darcy Backus received 197 votes to win a five-year seat, while Michelle McGaw received 171 votes to win a two-year seat. Incumbent Dr. John P. Zeh lost his seat after receiving 116 votes.

Lisbon’s $12 million budget passed 135-55. Nancy Addison ran unopposed for a school board seat and garnered 159 votes.

Madrid-Waddington Central School’s $14.8 million budget passed 172 - 45. Running without opposition, Gerald Molnar was reelected to the board of education. Andrew A. Bracy was elected with 104 votes over Jacqueline Brown, who had 94 votes.

Massena Central’s $46.8 million budget passed 463-263. The budget included a proposition to approve the purchase of four full-size, 66-passenger buses at a cost not to exceed $412,883. Newcomer Lorie R. MacKenzie received 609 votes to capture the one vacant school board seat. There were also four write-ins for Roger Clough and one write-in for Charles McGrath. Ms. MacKenzie will replace Michael J. LeBire, who opted not to seek another term.

Morristown Central’s $9 million budget passed 135-49. A bus proposition passed 122-63. Three school board seats went to Larry Kring III, 121 votes; Darrell Merkel, 100 votes; and Mary Anne Bailey, 128 votes.

Norwood-Norfolk Central’s $20.3 million budget, passed 213-102. In the election for three seats on the board of education with a three-year term, incumbents Jon Hazen received 256 votes and Suzanne Fiacco received 247 votes. There were also several write-ins, with Mary Ellen Todd receiving the highest number of votes at 9. A third seat held by Stephanie Allen will be unfilled after Ms. Allen opted not to seek re-election and a third candidate did not return a petition by the deadline. Voters also approved a proposition to spend up to $250,000 to purchase one 30-passenger bus and two 60-passenger buses, 213-99.

Ogdensburg’s $36 million budget passed 360-100. A proposition to sell Sherman School passed 425-24. In the board of education race, challenger James P. King beat incumbent Frederick P. Bean 310-198.

Parishville-Hopkinton’s $10.1 million budget passed 85-32. In the election for two, five-year terms on the board of education, James E. Young and Daniel S. Taylor won unopposed with 95 and 101 votes respectively. Voters also approved a proposition to purchase a bus at a cost not to exceed $125,000.

Potsdam Central’s $27.3 million budget passed 618-148. In the election for three, three-year terms on the board of education, Rachel H. Wallace earned 571 votes, Judith M. Hinman earned 548 votes and incumbent Ralph L. Fuller received 522 votes. Ann M. Carvill received 362 votes. Incumbents Mark R. Frascatore and Thomas W. Hobbs opted to not run for re-election.

Voters also approved a proposition for the purchase of two buses.

St. Lawrence Central’s $19.8 million budget passed 183-44. In the election for two seats on the Board of Education, incumbents Bethany L. St. Hilaire received 189 votes and James K. Lattimer received 178 votes. Voters also approved a proposition to purchase three buses at a cost not to exceed $258,000, 187-42.

Several Franklin County schools in the area also passed their budgets.

Brushton-Moira voters passed the $16,906,875 budget 175-110.

In the race for two board of education seats, incumbents Joey St. Mary and George Martin earned re-election with 221 and 179 votes respectively. Vitaline LaPage earned 121 votes.

Voters also approved a proposition to purchase a bus 150-113.

Salmon River voters passed the district’s $29,076,511 budget 359-350.

In the race for two board of education seats. both incumbents were defeated. Roger LaPage earned 411 votes. Peter Ghostlaw earned 347 votes. Incumbents Emily Lauzon and Judy Stark received 278 and 276 votes respectively.

Voters also approved the purchase of three buses at a cost not to exceed $210,000, 393-276.

A proposition regarding having a non-voting student representative on the board passed 442-222.

St. Regis Falls voters approved a $7,760,900 budget, 116-35.

In the race for two board of education seats, incumbent Mickey Smith earned 102 votes and Harry Ratcliffe received 95 votes. They ran unopposed.

Voters also approved a proposition to purchase a bus, as well as a eight-passenger Suburban, at a cost not to exceed $113,895, 112-33.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes