Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

OFA Key Club honors top contributors


The Ogdensburg Free Academy Key Club named Larry Worden, director of volunteer services for United Helpers Riverledge Campus, as its 2013 citizen of the year.

Mr. Worden was chosen for his commitment to the elderly and his efforts to work with the officers and the members of the OFA Key Club, according to club President Charlotte Miller.

The club is a high school service organization, sponsored by the Ogdensburg Kiwanis Club.

“When our Key Club decided to develop a service program for the elderly, Mr. Worden worked very closely with our student members to make it a success,” she said. “This was a great experience and many of our members, including myself, realized that many of the people there do not have families who visit them. With us coming, it makes their day a lot better.”

The Key Club named Kiwanis members Nancy Skelly and Carol McPherson as Kiwanians of the Year. Mrs. Skelly was honored for her work with the OFA Builders Club and Mrs. McPherson was honored for her work with the Aktion Club and involvement with the OFA Key Club.

Other honorees included:

President’s Award: Lt. Governor Laken Kelly, New York Executive Assistant Nabiha Qudsi and incoming Treasurer Melissa Jones.

Outstanding member of the Board of Directors: Kate Sweeney.

Read and Lead Award: outgoing Vice President John Morrison

Cliff M. Montroy Award: Maddie Ward

Carol Burns Memorial Service Award: Melissa Jones, Jessie Logan, Shauna Rickett, Nabiha Qudsi, Norman Piatek, John Morrison, Matt Snograss, Maddie Ward, Laken Kelly, Kate Sweeney, Zoe Martin, Victoria Measheaw and Tyler Fiacco.

Vice President’s Award:John Morrison

Secretary’s Award: Laken Kelly

President’s Award: Charlotte Miller

International Trustee: Jack Vielhauer.

Past Board of Directors: Maddie Ward, Matt Snodgrass, Norman Piatek, Melissa Jones, Jessie Logan, Kate Sweeney and Martin Arquitt.

Incoming officers: President Charlotte Miller, Vice President Martin Arquitt, Treasurer Melissa Jones, Secretary Ryan McNally, PR Chair Zoe Martin, Lt. Governor Laken Kelly and NY Executive Assistant Nabiha Qudsi.

Faculty Advisor Christina Frank and Kiwanis Advisor Jim Reagen were presented with memento photos of the officers and members.

A farewell slide show was presented by Shannon Tooley.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes