Alexandria Township Historical Society will offer a guided tour of Nobby Island and a glimpse into life on Millionaires Row on Aug. 13 on the St. Lawrence River.
Visitors will experience island life of past and present with hosts Dr. John Merola and Jodi Butler. The tour includes the grounds and cottages built in 1884 and 1889, as well as the modern pavilion and boathouse constructed by the current owners. Civil War veteran and New York City businessman Henry Heath purchased Nobby in 1871 and promptly built a modern cottage. In 1884, local contractor Seth Pope constructed a second cottage for Heath, his wife Jennie and son Norman. The 1871 cottage was replaced in 1889 with Norman de Lodge, again constructed by Seth Pope.
Dr. Merola purchased Nobby Island in 1985 and began the lifelong task of restoring, maintaining and improving the island estate. The recently completed pavilion, designed by Brian A. Jones of Aubertine and Currier Architects, Watertown, won a regional award in 2011 for historic preservation. The addition, built by Premier Building Associates LLC, Alexandria Bay, contains modern conveniences in a luxurious setting without disturbing the historical integrity of the original homes.
Transportation for the museum fundraiser will be provided by Uncle Sam Boat Tours with boarding at 1:15 for a 1:30 departure. The boat will return to the Uncle Sam dock by 5 p.m. Advance ticket purchase is required; the cost is $50 for members of the Historical Society or $65 for others and are available at the Cornwall Brothers Store and Museum, 36 Market St., Alexandria Bay. Tickets and further information are available at the museum, open daily 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., at www.AlexandriaHistorical.com, or by calling 482-4586.