Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Jefferson County unofficial primary election results


The unofficial results of the 2013 Jefferson County primary election held few surprises, as entrenched incumbents held on to their positions and a familiarity with the machinations of Jefferson County party politics paid off.

At the Board of Legislators level, political insider Jeremiah J. Maxon triumphed over land surveyor Jayson J. Jones, who apparently was unable to call to his aid the ghost of cartographer William Clark — of Lewis and Clark fame. By all accounts, Capt. Clark may have been the last land surveyor to ascend to political office.

Mr. Maxon, who won 220-114, said he has volunteered to help almost every Republican candidate to run in the county in the last five years.

In November, he will face Democrat Donna J. Bohn for the District 10 seat that longtime Legislator Michael W. Behling, R-Adams, will leave vacant at the end of the year.

Mr. Maxon, who started going to County Board of Legislators meetings when he was 16, said he felt confident going into the primary based on the sheer number of doors on which he knocked.

Mr. Maxon said he was out every night knocking on “hundreds and hundreds of doors” in his district.

In town races, Pamelia Supervisor Lawrence C. Longway, who has held office since 2003, was able to successfully defend his seat against challenger Scott J. Allen amid allegations that Mr. Longway no longer was eligible to vote in New York state after claiming to be a permanent resident in Hillsborough County, Florida, where he has a home.

Board of Elections officials conducted an investigation into the matter after Suzanne Phillips, a Rochester resident and Pamelia native, wrote them a letter apprising them of the situation. The Board of Elections ruled that Mr. Longway was a New York state resident.

Mr. Longway defeated Mr. Allen 149-94.

For Pamelia town justice, Anthony J. Casselman received 140 votes, beating Michael Doney, with 99 votes.

Town of Cape Vincent Supervisor Urban C. Hirschey turned away challenger Kirk E. Grant, 260-139.

For Cape Vincent Town Council, Brooks J. Bragdon led the field of three candidates with 282 votes; Michelle T. Oswald got 276, and Jeremy M. Wood 140. Mr. Bragdon and Ms. Oswald move on to the Republican line in the general election.

There was a tie for the Republican nomination for Alexandria Bay village justice, with George F. Merritt III and Sherry L. Pennington receiving 42 votes apiece.

In the race for Alexandria Town Council, John Stine led the pack with 223 votes. Gregory L. Wills came in second, with 188, followed by Ronald G. Thompson, 171; Douglas G. Williams, 110; Rodney J. Sourwine, 74, and Julie A. Erck, 53.

Other races:

n Alexandria town clerk/tax collector: Ellen S. Peck, 282; Shannon M. Peterson, 144.

Town justice: George F. Merritt III, 164; Sherry L. Pennington, 248.

Town highway superintendent: Jeremy C. Durand, 225; Andrew A. Davis, 200.

County Committee: James E. Parker, 52; Stephen C. Sourwine, 74; Kimberley S. Bradley, 69; Ronald G. Thomson, 97; Rodney J. Sourwine, 71; Dale D. Hunneyman, 104.

County Committee: James L. Hagan, 116; Frederick J. Weller, 90; Norris R. Handschuh, 133; Brent H. Sweet, 125; Alan E. Taylor, 96; Geneva J. Running, 136.

Mayor of Alexandria Bay: Danielle L. Jury 63; Nicholas R. Speach, 22.

n Champion Highway Superintendent: John F. Sech, 161; Louis J. Waite, 51.

n Henderson Town Council: Torre J. Parker-Lane, 122; Edwin D. Glaser, 97; Charlotte R. Richmond, 91.

n LeRay town supervisor: Ronald C. Taylor, 234; Walter H. VanTassel, 74.

n Orleans town justice: David M. Morse, 86; Patrick M. Conley, 29.

n Theresa town supervisor: Steven Marcinkowski, 81; Timothy H. Tanner, 44.

Town justice: Leonard A. Simpson, 96; Edward J. Klepacz, 85; Roger K. Duvall, 39.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes