Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Oct. 7
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Pierce, Erdman pace Section 10 Cross Country Championship races


FORT COVINGTON - Canton Central senior Laura Pierce raced to her fourth straight sectional championship on Tuesday, the Canton senior winning the Class C race while also taking overall honors in a time of 19 minutes and 11 seconds in the 5K event held at Salmon River Central.

Pierce, who is considering several Division I colleges next year, led the Lady Bears to Class C team honors with a 15-64 margin over runnerup Gouverneur. Malone won Class B as the lone Class B team in Section 10 while the Norwood-Norfolk ladies out-distanced Brushton-Moira 15-46 for Class D honors. The Lady Flyers were led by the 1-2-3 finish of Kaycie Saucier in 19:26, Hannah Gray in 20:22 and Leah Livernois in 20:43.

Each team winner and the next five individuals in each class become eligible for the state meet which will be held Saturday, November 9th at Queensbury.

“My fourth sectional championship is nice,” said Pierce who is considering Division I Virginia, Duke and Cornell as her choice of college where she intends to compete in cross country, winter track and spring track. “Our team has had some injury problems which has slowed us down this year, but everyone ran today and we’re looking forward to states.”

In the boys race, Gouverneur’s Jake Erdman was the top overall finisher in 17:07 as the Wildcats took team honors in Class C with a 22-57 margin over runnerup OFA. Malone took Class B led by Mitchell Marlowe in 17:52 while in Class D, Norwood-Norfolk ran by runnerup Tupper Lake 21-35 led by the 1-2 finish of Kyle Fulk in 17:27 and Adam Saucier in 17:57.

“I ran a good strong race today and it was a lot of fun. I really like the bigger races,” said Erdman. “This will be my fourth year qualifying for states and I’m hoping for a top-10 finish this year.”

Special award winners on the boys side included Erdman who was presented both the Travis Friedrich Memorial Sportsmanship Award and the Justin Casserly Most Valuable Runner Award. On the girls side, Malone’s Carrie Pomainville was presented the Travis Friedrich Memorial Sportsmanship Award while Pierce was presented the Justin Casserly Most Valuable Runner Award. The Section 10 Coach of the Year Award went to Kent Fetter of Norwood-Norfolk.

Heading to states in Class B will be both Malone teams. In Class C girls, it will be the Canton team along with individuals Margeaux Simmons of Gouverneur, Gabby Dunkleberg of Gouverneur, Kurstyn Macaulay of OFA, Maddie Dow of Potsdam and Marie Amell of Potsdam. In Class D it will be the Norwood-Norfolk team along with individuals Tess Kossner of Tupper Lake, Carly Taylor and Alexis Snyder of Brushton-Moira, Ari Bishop of Tupper Lake and Veronica Stauffer of B-M.

In Class C boys, heading to states will be the Gouverneur team along with individuals Donovan Smith of OFA, Darren Ricalton of Canton, Ben Miller of Potsdam, Joe Grizzutto of OFA and Nick Vielhauer of OFA. In Class D, it will be the N-N team along with individuals Anson Gagnier of Tupper Lake, Broyce Guerette of Tupper Lake, Daniel Shaheen of Tupper Lake, Elliott Fletcher of Tupper Lake and Tyler Nimz of B-M.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes