Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Oct. 6
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Many contested races to be held in Lewis County


LOWVILLE — There will be at least four new faces on the Lewis County Board of Legislature come Jan. 1.

Six of 10 legislative races are contested in Lewis County, and there are incumbents running in only two races.

In District 6, Democrat Paul M. Stanford, retired food service owner, is hoping to retain his seat for a third term.

He has been challenged by Republican Andrea Moroughan, retired school bus driver and former Watson town justice.

In District 10, fourth-term Legislator Republican Jerry H. King, a general contractor, is up against independent John A. Healt, an account executive with Lodging Kit Co., Boonville.

Four districts will seat a new legislator.

In District 4, the Republican line is held by log-truck operator Bryan D. Moser. He’ll be facing write-in candidate and fellow Republican Thomas J. Schantz, dairy farmer, refrigerator and TV repair business owner and apartment manager.

In District 5, Democrat Richard A. Chartrand, a veteran and retired engineer, will face Republican Thomas E. Jaconski, former Lewis County undersheriff, a veteran and an employee of Carthage Area Hospital.

District 7 has a three-way race among three registered Republicans. Gregory M. Kulzer, state dairy specialist, and Jeffrey F. Beyer, farmer and Climax Manufacturing employee, hold an independent line. C. Lee Hinkleman, retired from the Army and former public relations director at Otis Technology, holds the Republican and Conservative lines. Mr. Beyer also was endorsed by the Democratic Party.

The race in District 8 has Duane C. DeLair, psychologist/psychotherapist and owner of Constableville Auction Hall, on the Independence and Democratic lines. Lawrence L. Dolhof, owner of Dolhof True Value, will be on the Republican and Conservative lines.

In the only contested town supervisor race in the county, Robin Grunert, Independence Party, has challenged New Bremen Democratic Supervisor Peter J. Keys. Republican Councilman David L. Becker, fellow Republican Joseph E. Aucter and Democrat Donald Getman are running for two council seats, while Republican Judge Charles W. Stevens is being challenged by Democrat Valerie J. Getman.

Democrat Jonathan M. Bush and independent line holder Steve LaChausse are vying to win the highway superintendent position in New Bremen.

Two Republican incumbents, John A. Farney and Bernard “Chip” Monnat, are being challenged by Democrat Charlie Dekin for two Town Council seats in Croghan.

Also in Croghan, Republican Amos A. Noftsier and Democrat Deanna K. Hoch are vying for the position of town tax assessor.

In Watson, Town Council members Ronald Pominville and Jeffrey F. Hoch, Republicans, are challenged by independent line holder Justin Hall for two available seats.

Two seats are also open for Town Council in Turin, with Republican Paul Dickinson running against incumbents Democrat Joanne D’Ambrosi and Republican Linda M. Galarneau.

In Martinsburg, Republican council candidates E. Frank Kogut and Jared J. Thisse, also with independent lines, will compete in a three-way race for two spots with incumbent Republican Michael J. McGrath.

In Lyonsdale, two winners will emerge for Town Council in a race among Republican William L. Marmon, Conservative David Butts and Republican Nancy O’Brien-Dailey.

For highway superintendent, voters will choose beween Democrat Randall D. Baslow and Republican Terry L. Swiernik.

Lowville’s Town Council race will see Democrat Robert Mullin and Republicans Ruth Laribee and Paul R. Virkler compete for two seats. The race for justice in Lowville is also a three-way competition for two seats among incumbent Republican Patricia H. Yarina, Conservative line-only Republican Asa Holbrook and Republican William Kiernan.

In Leyden, Democrats Andrew Millick and Steven M. Fox, also with the Conservative line, and Republican Verle E. Yelton will attempt to win one of two Town Council seats.

Osceola’s Town Council race has Democrat Colleen M. Burns, Republicans Vickie A. Carpinelli and Amanda L. Sterling, both on the independent line as well, and independent line holder Joanne A. Conklin competing for two spots.

A one-year term vacancy will be decided between Republican Arlene Mosch and Independent Timothy J. Davis.

Independent lines are held for Osceola town clerk by both Julie Painter and Helen Hall, also on the Republican line. Town highway superintendent will be chosen from Republican candidate Richard Meagher, Michael Wilk and Kevin Searles, all with independent lines, while Democrat Andrew P. Burns and independent Ginny Churchill compete for tax collector.

The two Pinckney Town Council seats will be decided between Republicans Daniel C. Pearson Jr. and Donald H. Vincent and independent Sandra L. Dunn.

In Denmark, Democrat Prudence L. Kunert and Republican Diane M. Mahar are competing for town clerk/tax collector.

In Greig, Republican Thomas Gunn is facing independent Jennifer Fox for town clerk/tax assessor.

In the town of Lewis, Democrat Alan J. Tanner and Republican Lynn Frank Platt are competing for the position of highway superintendent.

In the only village race in the county, Democrat Janice Belmont, Republican Lyn R. Ripp and independent Frederick McCauley are vying for two available board seats in Port Leyden.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes