Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Thu., Oct. 8
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Political newcomer leads Hirschey by 75 votes in Cape; other town and village races decided


Democratic candidates for Cape Vincent Town Council took the lead Tuesday night, but the race is far from over with more than 300 absentee ballots yet to be counted.

Cape Vincent Town Supervisor Urban C. Hirschey, who received 426 votes, was trailing political newcomer Alan N. Wood by 75 votes Tuesday night.

“The Cape Vincent people elected me,” Mr. Wood, who received 501 votes, adding he was “pretty confident” that he could claim the top seat.

But in Cape Vincent, 331 absentee ballots were issued — 265 ballots had been returned as of Tuesday — many of them to seasonal residents who traditionally have supported anti-wind development candidates.

“They ran a very competitive campaign. I was surprised,” Mr. Hirschey said late Tuesday. “They did a good job.”

In the race for two spots on the Town Council, Paul F. Aubertine, son of former state Sen. Darrel J. Aubertine, led the pack with 542 votes. Dennis W. Pearson came in second with 497.

Mr. Hirschey’s fellow Republican council members Brooks J. Bragdon and Michelle T. Oswald received 406 and 386 votes, respectively.

n Clayton: In the neighboring town of Clayton, Councilman Robert W. Cantwell III defended his seat with 593 votes, but Democratic challenger Mary J. Zovistoski apparently defeated incumbent Republican George E. Kittle, 557-490.

n Village of Clayton: In the village trustee race, Anthony P. Randazzo with 260 votes and Bruce N. Beattie with 227 won, with Paula D. Baril receiving 194.

n Alexandria: Town Clerk Ellen S. Peck, Republican, defeated Shannon M. Peterson in a landslide victory, 830-261.

In the Town Council race, Gregory Wills with 689 votes and John Stine with 685 prevailed over Thomas Petrie with 584.

In the highway superintendent race, Andrew A. Davis edged Jeremy C. Durand, 578-537.

n Village of Alexandria Bay: In the village justice race, incumbent Sherry L. Pennington defeated Richard L. Drake 163-118.

In the village trustee race, Russell S. Henry Jr. was a clear leader with 215 votes, with Steven E. Jarvis with 158 votes and Todd A. Hunter with 151 in a tight race for the second slot.

n Lyme: Town Council incumbents Donald Bourquin and Ann “Boo” Harris defended their seats with 373 and 302 votes, respectively. Democratic challenger Julia E. Gosier received 256 votes.

In the assessor race, Roswell G. Gotham retained his seat against challenger Edmund H. Demattia Jr., 294-150.

n Theresa: A new supervisor will take office in January, with Steven Marcinkowski defeating Howard C. Schnettler Jr., 273-179

In the race for two justice seats, Edward Klepacz with 248 votes and Leonard A. Simpson with 242 were apparent winners over incumbent Roger K. Duvall with 207 and Rachel A. Roberts with 167.

n Champion: In the town of Champion Council race, Bruce R. Ferguson with 387 votes and Henry S. Watkins with 340 easily outpaced Joshua L. Crump with 121.

n Wilna: In the Wilna Town Council race, Susan Storms ran away from the crowd with 618 votes, and incumbent Francis M. Skvorak kept his seat with 430. James F. Rogers finished third with 344.

n Orleans: In the town justice race, David M. Morse with 268 votes defeated Christopher Labow with 195 and Patrick M. Conley with 86.

n Pamelia: Voters chose Gwen Call over Allison M. Couse for town clerk/collector, 248-243.

n Village of Antwerp: Voters picked Reginald J. Golden as mayor over Calvin L. Jones , 81-35.

n Rodman: In the town supervisor race, incumbent Gary R. Stinson and challenger Stacey Berry are tied with 135 votes each.

Both candidates said they were waiting to see how the county would review the votes, and the outcome could be decided by absentees.

Mr. Berry said he was glad for the support he received given the years he was away from the Town Council. Mr. Stinson acknowledged he had not done much campaigning, and “I guess it shows.”

n Hounsfield: In the Town Council race, voters picked Todd R. Farrington with 409 votes and Carson D. Lennox with 317 over Timothy R. Queior with 264.

n Lorraine: In the Town Council race, voters picked David D. Johnson with 110 votes and Virginia Faye Clemens with 99 over Alfred Elliott with 68 and Stephen J. Pierson with 40.

n Orleans: Voters selected David M. Morse as town justice with 268 votes over Christopher Labow with 195 and Patrick M. Conley with 86.

n Village of Sackets Harbor: In the trustee race, voters chose Peter R. Daly with 212 votes and Daniel E. Frechette with 208 over Corry J. Lawler with 129.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes