Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Oct. 7
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Ogdensburg chamber selects Brashaw president, names 2014 board lineup


The Greater Ogdensburg Chamber of Commerce has announced its executive board for 2014.

The officers are: Michael S. Brashaw, manager and chief financial officer, Ed-Med Federal Credit Union, president; Lisa Hirsch, Blevins Brothers Inc., first vice president; Dawn M. Merz, radio Q102/PAC 98.7/YES FM, second vice president; Judy Ryan, Fort La Presentation Association, secretary; Alex Augsbury, treasurer; William D. Hosmer, Hosmer’s Marina, executive committee member; Steven R. Hawes, Claxton-Hepburn Medical Center food services director, executive committee member; and Lori A. Smithers, United Helpers, executive committee member as past president.

Mr. Brashaw, 46, has been a chamber member since 2009. He succeeds Mrs. Smithers.

Mr. Brashaw said he has seen the chamber change for the better.

And for the busier. “No question,” he said Thursday. “It is a very busy entity. We have an event almost every month.”

The chamber has raised its events quota substantially in recent years with such proven successes as the Ogtoberfest, the North Country Wine Beer and Food Festival and the GreenMarket farmers market.

Mr. Brashaw credits Sandra M. Porter, the chamber’s executive director who will be retiring Dec. 31, for that success.

“She has brought us a long way,” he said.

The chamber also has several newly-elected board of directors members who will serve a three-year term beginning Dec. 4.

Second-term members are: Cathy C. Piche’ of NBT Bank; Kenneth J. Gardner, director of operations, Ogdensburg Volunteer Rescue Squad; Mr. Hosmer; Douglas Johnson of SeaComm Federal Credit Union; Mrs. Merz; and Mrs. Ryan.

Newly-elected board members to the board are: Debbie Barr of Claxton-Hepburn Medical Center; Josh Amo of Seaway Valley Jumpers; Sean McNamara of North Country Now; and Lee Jones of Jones Insurance Agency.

The chamber’s annual chamber dinner will take place tonight at Gran-View Restaurant.

The chamber of will honor florist/landscaper Joseph Basta as its 2013 Citizen of the Year.

The Ogdensburg Pride and Beautification Commission has been selected to receive the 2013 Outstanding Community Service Award.

Hosmer’s Marina has been selected to receive the Business Improvement Award for 2013.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes