Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

OFA boys soccer team honored


A championship season is always memorable but OFA Boys Soccer Coach Matt Morley says his memories of the his 2013 squad will go beyond the NAC Central Division championship which his Blue Devils secured.

The Devils prevailed in the pennant race by one point over a Canton squad which dropped the Devils 1-0 in the Section 10 Class B Championship.

The Devils, who were ranked in the NYS Class B Polls the entire season, matched their athletic accolades with academic achievements. They formed a 20-player New York State Scholar-Athlete Team Award contingent which compiled an average of 93.44 and had 14 players earn NAC All-Academic Awards which are offered to sophomores, juniors and seniors only. “I am sorry the way the season ended and it was an awful feeling,” said Morley at Tuesday night’s Boys Soccer Awards Banquet at the Ogdensburg Elks Lodge.

“But this was a great group to work with and they earned the most academic awards of any team I have ever coached. We had a lot of light-hearted moments which always came from different players but when it was needed, these guys always got serious.”

Senior Matt Piercey took it very seriously when he was given the opportunity to speak on behalf of his team.

“I never knew it would be so difficult when I had to take off my soccer uniform for the last time,” said Piercey. “It was so great because I had my best friends to play with.”

Coach Morley praised his seniors for their leadership and recognized the contributions of Assistant Coach TJ Hannan and retiring Junior Varsity Coach Jim Howard.

Howard, who will complete a 30-year tenure as an elementary school teacher in the city school district in June, has coached modified and JV soccer for over 25 years.

“Jim Howard has impacted the lives of hundreds of student-athletes,” said Morley.

“And TJ Hannan has contributed countless hours of service to our program.”

OFA team awards went to Nate Peo - George Mattison Award for Outstanding Leadership, Matt Piercey - David Kuca Memorial Award for Outstanding Dedication, Seth Pinkerton - Tom Seymour Memorial Award for Outstanding Intensity, Jacob Sias - Mike Hazen Memorial Award for Outstanding Toughness, Aaron Peo - Coaches’ Award for Outstanding Spirit, Rudy Binion - Coaches Award as an Outstanding Sparkplug, Pat LaComb - Coaches’ Award for Outstanding Work Ethic, Conor Hannan - Offensive MVP, Tristan Moore - Defensive MVP and Peyton Lalone - Gamer Award for his unrelenting determination.

Hannan, Piercey and David Prudhomme earned First Team All-NAC Central honors. Lalone, Nate Peo and Binion were Second Team selections and DaKota Brady was awarded OFA’s NAC Sportsmanship Award.

NAC All-Academic Awards went to: Martin Arquitt, Zach Ashley, DaKota Brady, Conor Hannan, Pat LaComb, Mike Mallott, Tristan Moore, Jordan Miller, Jed McRoberts, Seth Pinkerton, Aaron Peo, Nate Peo, Dave Prudhomme and Andrew Putman.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes