Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Oct. 7
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

OFA Alumni enjoy holiday hoops


Twas the Night After Christmas and all the through gym, former Blue Devils were stirring in search for a holiday flashback to their glory days.

The fund-raiser for the OFA Boys and Girls Basketball programs drew 57 players ranging from the Class of 1972 to June’s 2013 grads.

One Women’s Game and two Men’s Games were held along with sneak preview of future alumni offered in a Futures Game.

“Everything went very well. Everyone seemed to have a great time,” said OFA Boys Varsity Coach Mark Henry who organized the event.

In the Women’s Game Coach Peg Langley coached the Blues to a 40-32 win over Coach Jim Adams’ White squad. The winners prevailed with the efforts of Jade Vernsey (2002), Shannon LaFave (2007). McKenzie Cole (2012), Bridget King (1999), Allyse Claxton (2006), Hoobie McDonald (2004), Sara LaFave (2008), Brittany Smith (2009) and Kelsey Geary (2002).

The White squad featured Kristin Hurlbutt, Emily Badlam, Amy (Lesperance) Lemke, Austie Claxton, Lyndsay Drummond, Chelsea Martin, Kendra (Kendall) Moran and Kristin (Cobb) Worden.

The first Men’s Game saw a 47-40 White Team victory for Coach Bill Merna with Mike Martin (1986), Tom Pinkerton (1988), Joe Binion (1997), Chris Sargent (1999), Tom Wears (2003), Tyler Shaver (2004), Jim Rogers (1979) and Jordan Fields (2004).

The Blue Squad featured: Scott Sargent (1987), Travis LaRock (2004), Colin Merna (1999), Steve Badlam (1973), Jared Langstaff (1996), Harry Garvey (1972), Jon Spooner (1993), Matt Caufield (1990) and Ryan Farrell (2001).

The nightcap produced a 38-30 Blue Team win for Coach Mike Sargent’s crew of: Jon Reed (2006), Jared Morrow (2011), Mike Baker (2007), Jon Garvey (2008), Justin King (2006), Brendan Merna (2009), Jake Herzog (2010), Breton LaRose (2013), Jarred Gemmill (2011), Joel King (2011) and Justin Casey (1999) over the Blues of Wes Schofell (2007), Tom Kelso (2008), Gene Bouyer (2010), Zach Dodge (2008), TJ Hannan (2006), Aaron Seymour (2008), Joe Cosmo (2009), Pat Cosmo (2013), Drew Winter (2007) and Owen Luckie (2011).

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes