Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

Thompson shared historic award


WASHINGTON – After dazzling the lacrosse world with amazing talent and ability, Miles Thompson and Lyle Thompson, brothers, teammates and Native Americans, were honored as co-winners of the 2014 Tewaaraton Trophy.

This honor was bestowed at the Tewaaraton Ceremony at the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, D.C. Honored guests included the many of the Thompson family, the UAlbany coaching staff, plus numerous lacrosse supporters and players and coaches from around the country.

This is a historic day for the world of lacrosse, with the Thompsons, members of the Onondaga Nation, becoming the first Native Americans to be honored with the Tewaaraton Trophy.

“It is the best feeling to share the award with my brother and be the first Native Americans to win it,” said Miles Thompson. “No words can express this feeling.”

“Words cannot describe how happy I am, it brought tears to my eyes,” said Lyle Thompson. “To share the award with my brother is an honor.”

Since its inception in 2001, the Tewaaraton Trophy, on the men’s or women’s side, has never been awarded to a pair of players. The Thompson brothers become the first pair to achieve such a feat. Each gave a speech to the crowd, bringing both, as well as many in the audience, to tears.

“We grew up together, we stuck together throughout high school, and it shows how close we are,” said Miles Thompson.

“For us it is about bringing a positive influence and helping people, not just Native Americans, but everyone,” said Lyle Thompson.

“It is just humbling, it is an amazing honor to our university and program, honoring the players and coaches,” said UAlbany head coach Scott Marr. “It is great to have the first Native Americans winning the honor. I cannot imagine how special it is for these two to win it together, for all of their family and teammates.”

This is the first Tewaaraton Trophy to players from the America East since 2001, when Hofstra’s Doug Shanahan was selected as the award’s first recipient.

Lyle Thompson, the USILA DI Outstanding Player of the Year, Outstanding Attackman and America East Player of the Year, finished with the top single season in Division I history, earning a DI-high 77 assists plus 51 goals to total 128 points, leading all of DI with 7.11 points per game. He earned at least four points in all 18 of UAlbany’s games, including at least seven points in 11 games, including three goals and five assists in the win over Loyola against Joe Fletcher, a fellow Tewaaraton finalist.

Miles Thompson, a USILA First Team All-American, America East Tournament MVP and All-America East First Team attackman, earned a DI-single season record 82 goals to lead DI with 4.56 per game, adding 37 assists for 119 points, the second-best all-time single season tally only to Lyle Thompson. He earned at least four points in 17 of UAlbany’s 18 games, including six games with at least six goals. He earned seven goals and two assists apiece in each America East Tournament victory.

Both Thompsons competed at Salmon River Central for coach Dave White before closing out their high school careers in the Syracuse area at LaFayette.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes