Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Oct. 6
Serving the communities of Jefferson, St. Lawrence and Lewis counties, New York
In print daily. Online always.
Related Stories

B&W Quick Stop nets NNY Box Lacrosse playoff title


BRASHER FALLS — B&W Quick Stop successfully relayed the top seed into the Northern New York Box Lacrosse High School Division playoff championship on Wednesday at the Tri-Town Arena.

Powerade player of the game Cody Kocsis tallied two goals and five assists as B&W turned a 9-8 halftime lead into a 19-11 victory of Massena Savings and Loan in the title game. Drew Rose generated seven goals and one assist. Landon Storrin fashioned three goals and one helper. Jake Sutton (3 assits) and Lucas Beeson contributed two goals apiece. Tommy Storrin added a goal and two assists. Zach St. Hilaire and DJ Morgan each netted singletons while Ryan LaPaige and Garret Clark provided solid defensive efforts. Brian LaBier and Martin Fregoe served as coaches.

Kaleb Rathbun scored three goals as player of the game in the losing cause. Pat LaGrow contributed a pair of goals. Owen Kowalchuk (1 assist) and Zach Ward each struck for a two-pointer. Gabe Hornung and Jayden Ashley chipped in a goal each while Ian Bresett logged a pair of helpers. Jeff Bain and Austin LaPage stood tall defensively. Cody Burns and Marshall Burninghausen coached Massena Savings and Loan.


In the third-place game, Goodrich Refrigeration turned a 9-5 halftime lead into a convincing 20-7 win over Enbridge-St. Lawrence Gas. Matthew Burg anchored the winning offense with six goals and two assists. Carter Rose produced five goals and three helpers. Skyler Burns generated two goals and three assists. Player of the game Jarrett St. Hilaire notched a goal and assist along with Dennis Powell. Isaac Jandreau scored twice while Ethan Simonds and Reese Evans netted solo goals and Zack Demurs recorded a solo assist. Kyle Montroy and Blake Baldwin coached the Goodrich laxmen.

Austin Kennedy scored a goal and helped set up another as player of the game for Enbridge-SLG. Isaiah Lyon struck for a pair of two-pointers midway through the first half that cut the deficit to 7-5. Hunter Storrin and Jayden Ashley scored the other goals. Kevin Logan and Cody Kilcoyne served as coaches.

The duo of Parker Hornung (31 saves, 3 assists) and Trent Dow (29 saves, 2 goals) shared goaltending duties over the course of the two High School Division games.


The Elementary Division squads closed out their season by playing a pair of games. In the first, Dow Electric outscored Stacey Howlett, DDS, 14-13 led by Tanner Race with four goals. Quinn McGaheren chipped in three goals followed by Owen Lovely with two while Gabe Hornung, Kyle Rutley, Myles Beeson, Damien Rotach and Parker Berkman each netted singletons and Julia Basford posted an assist.

For Stacey Howlett, DDS, Jack Pitts broke through for five goals followed by Ryan Charlesbois with four while Tommy Storrin, Mike Donnie, Jayden Ashley and Will Sullivan each netted one and Johan Beeson added an assist.

The teams then played to a 36-36 tie in a game that featured no goaltenders and multiple balls put into play at the same time.

Scoring for Dow Electric were; Olden Hewlett (7 goals), Zach Strauser (5 goals), Myles Beeson (4 goals), Damien Rotach (4 goals), Julia Basford (3 goals), Parker Berkman (3 goals), Gage Charleson (3 goals), Tanner Race (2 goals), Kyle Rutley (2 goals), Owen Lovely (1 goals) and Quinn McGaheren (1 goals).

For Stacey Howlett, DDS, Jack Pitts, Jayden Ashley, Rylie Basford and Dillon Lauson scored four goals apiece. Mike Donnie, Will Sullivan and Ryan Charlesbois scored three each followed by Matt Phillpen and Evan Demurs with two each. Kayden McGaheren, Tommy Storrin and Remi Charleson all netted singletons.

Director Chris Rose offered thanks to the six teams sponsors for their contributions in the 21st season for the league. He also thanked the players and coaches along with scorekeeper Chloe Gardner.

INDIVIDUAL AWARDS: Between the two High School playoff games, Rose announced several individual awards. Younger players in the division to be cited were; Matt Burg (Most Assists, 13), Lucas Beeson (Most Goals, 33, Most Points, 37). Honored among the older players were; Isaiah Lyons (Most Goals 26), Jake Sutton (Most Points, 38) and Owen Kowalchuk (Most Assists, 15) and goaltender Trent Down (Most Saves, Most Assists, Best Save Percentage).

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
WDT News FeedsWDT on FacebookWDT on TwitterWDT on InstagramWDT for iOS: iPad, iPhone, and iPod touchWDT for Android
Showcase of Homes
Showcase of Homes